By-election to be held in South Croydon

Voters in South Croydon ward will be electing a new councillor on Thursday 30 June 2022.

Croydon Council has today (Tuesday 24 May) published a Notice of Election for the vacancy.

During Croydon’s first Mayoral and local elections earlier this month, Jason Perry was elected as a councillor for South Croydon ward. He also won the election to become the first Executive Mayor of Croydon, which meant he could not take up the councillor position.

Voting will take place at six polling stations in the ward during the usual polling hours of 7am to 10pm on 30 June. Electors should receive their poll card by Monday 6 June, but do not need this to vote.

Residents living in South Croydon ward who are British, eligible Commonwealth, Irish or European Union citizens, and aged 18 or over on 30 June, will be able to vote at this election, but only if they are registered to vote. The council is urging anyone in South Croydon ward not on the electoral register to sign up here. You must be registered to vote by midnight on 14 June to vote in this by-election.

The deadline for applying to vote by post in this by-election is Wednesday 15 June. All postal votes should be dispatched to electors who have arranged to vote by post by Friday 17 June.

For more information on the by-election, including how to obtain a nomination pack to stand as a candidate or for deadlines for registration and voting by post or by proxy, visit the by-election page on the council’s website.

2022-05-24T17:51:43+01:00 May 24th, 2022|Recent news|