Christmas and New Year bin collection changes and recycling of your Christmas trees

Collections of household recycling and rubbish will be changing for three weeks over the festive period.

As in previous years collections will be delayed for a few days so crews can spend time with their families and friends over the festive period. In some cases collections might be delayed by up to four days but they will return to normal from Monday, 18 January.

From 18 January we will also be offering you the chance to ‘tree-cycle’ by collecting your unwanted real Christmas trees for free. If you put your tree out from that date it will be collected within two weeks. Simply remove all the decorations and place your tree as close to the front boundary of your property as possible, making sure it is visible from the pavement, without blocking access or the pavement.

Once the festivities are over you can also take your real Christmas tree to be recycled at one of the council’s household reuse and recycling centres. If you subscribe to our garden waste collection service you can cut it up and put it in your garden waste bin.

A full list of revised collection dates is included below and is available online. A printed leaflet of collection dates until November 2021 has also been delivered to households across the borough.

Usual collection date                      Revised collection date

Friday 25 December                              Tuesday 29 December
Monday 28 December                          Wednesday 30 December
Tuesday 29 December                          Thursday 31 December
Wednesday 30 December                    Saturday 2 January
Thursday 31 December                         Monday 4 January
Friday 1 January                                     Tuesday 5 January
Monday 4 January                                 Wednesday 6 January
Tuesday 5 January                                 Thursday 7 January
Wednesday 6 January                           Friday 8 January
Thursday 7 January                               Saturday 9 January
Friday 8 January                                    Monday 11 January
Monday 11 January                               Tuesday 12 January
Tuesday 12 January                              Wednesday 13 January
Wednesday 13 January                         Thursday 14 January
Thursday 14 January                             Friday 15 January
Friday 15 January                                   Saturday 16 January

“Residents will have plenty of opportunities over the Christmas period to recycle and put out their rubbish.

“I am also pleased that once again you can give your Christmas tree a green goodbye thanks to our free collection and recycling service for real trees.”

Councillor Muhammad Ali, cabinet member for sustainable Croydon

Any missed recycling and refuse collections should be reported through My Account and the Love Clean Streets App.

2020-12-11T17:12:18+00:00 December 11th, 2020|Recent news|